Path act update

Home Forums General Discussion 2017 Tax Season Path act update

• This topic has 32 replies, 4 voices, and was last updated 7 years ago by Aaron.
  • Topic Starter
    Sarbear

At midnight eastern time my wmr changed from the path act message to just a “your return has been received and is being processed” no ddd filed 1/23 accepted same day child credit and earned income credit…hmm

Viewing 31 reply threads
    • Author
      Replies
        Aaron

I’m afraid I may be opening myself up to a never ending barrage of comments from people, but I work as a Data Transcriber for the IRS out of Kansas City, MO. Part of my role is to review flagged returns to see what steps, if any, need to be taken before they can be processed.

I cannot vouch for any specific individuals who voice their experiences on this forum, but I can confirm that taxpayers who claimed EIC/ACTC who have already been approved (which is a very high % of people who were accepted by 2/4) will see DD projections of 2/20-2/24 when the WMR? portal is updated early AM this Saturday. It’s also true that depending on the financial institution you bank with, that you could see your deposit pending since 2/16 and even receive your deposit on 2/17.

Yes, 2/27 is a padded date to try and eliminate thousands of repetitious calls tying up call centers that are also serving inquiries by taxpayers who were informed they needed to call to provide further information, etc. Just know that hundreds of millions of dollars have already left the treasury and are in transit.

The public relations department of the IRS takes several steps to ensure a consistent message is delivered to taxpayers, so if you are actually able to ease past the scripted responses you are receiving, and being told a deposit is projected for 2/22, I think you should believe them, as they are going outside the bounds of protocol because they, I don’t know, morally disagree with keeping people in the dark?